Our Team

The management team of Children’s Place Association brings together their diverse backgrounds to help fulfill our mission.


Cathy Krieger, LCSW, MA, MA, MBA

President & CEO


John Sweeney, MBA

Deputy Executive Director


Kathryn Shaw

Chief Financial Officer


Daniel L. Dever

Director of Development


Susan Reyna-Guerrero, LCSW

Director of Programs 


Monica Lanum, SPHR, MBA

Director of Human Resources


Gloria Gordon, MBA, MPH, RN

Residential Program Manager


Stacey Hacker, MPA

Assistant Director of Development


Ivan Harrison III, MA

Foster Care Program Manager


Micol Werner

Assistant Director of International Programs


Jennifer Torres, MPH

International Program Manager

Founding Board of Directors

In the late 1980s a small group of concerned Chicagoans responded to the HIV/AIDS health crisis and its impact on children by creating a new organization. Its original program, a 10-bed Children’s Residential Center with 24-hour nursing care, opened in 1991 – one of the first of its kind in the nation.

Thank you to the Founding Board of Directors.

Robert T. Bale
Henrietta Bertelsman
Joseph Hickey
Jack Lee (in memoriam)
Elizabeth LeTourneau-Lee
Langdon D. Neal
Amy Puccinelli
Jack Strand
Ram Yogev, MD

Board of Directors

Children’s Place Association Board of Directors is made up of community and business leaders. Their diverse backgrounds bring unique perspectives and leadership to the organization.


Michael Silverman, Chair
Senior Vice President – Chief Legal Officer and Specialized Operations


Bob Ryan, Vice Chair
Chief Financial Officer/Co-Owner
Goldfish Swim School


Christopher Murphy, CPA, Treasurer


Bethany Neckvatal, Secretary
Senior Vice President
Mesirow Financial Currency Management Group

Board Members

Brenda B. Asare
President and CEO
The Alford Group

Robert T. Bale
Community Volunteer
Founding Board Member

Josephine Calderon
Vice President & Senior Trust Officer – Trust & Wealth Management                    Devon Bank

John J. Durso
Nixon Peabody, LLC

Brian K. Greenblatt
President, Middle Market – Commercial Banking
The PrivateBank

Harold A. Kessler, MD
Global Medical Director
ViiV Healthcare

Raymond J. Mulligan
Vice President (Retired)
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Illinois

Edward F. Otto*
Ted Otto Group, LLC

Kathleen Ryan Sellew*
Managing Director (Retired)

Marsh USA Inc.

Diana Ware
Vice President, Corporate Senior Risk Manager
Alliant/Mesirow Insurance

* Indicates past Board Chair

Leadership Advisory Council

Robert T. Bale
Community Volunteer

Langdon D. Neal
Principal and Owner
Neal & Leroy, LLC

Richard S. Price
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Mesirow Financial

Mrs. John R. Walter
Community Volunteer & Co-Founder of The Auxiliary of Children’s Place Association

Junior Board


Greg Bortz, President
The PrivateBank

Maggie Ryan, Event Co-Chair
The PrivateBank

Brigitte Trindl, Event Co-Chair
Mesirow Financial

Megan Zande, Event Co-Chair
The PrivateBank

Sarah Kohler, Marketing Co-Chair

Kloie McCann, Marketing  Co-Chair
The PrivateBank

Steven Pesce, Recruitment Chair
Fifth Third Bank

Eleni Kontos, Auxiliary Chair
Mesirow Financial

Board Members

Kevin Amoo-Mensah
Goldman Sachs

Nicolas Anderson
Jahn US

Patrick Barrett

Derek Breese
The PrivateBank

Jillian Dougherty
MB Financial

Julie Frank
Navigate Research

Michael Free
The PrivateBank

Kent Larson

Leigh Loftus
Loftus Inc

Maureen McCluskey
Duane Morris LLP

Melissa Platt
The PrivateBank

Jonathan Rosen
Pokorny & Marks LLC

Ray Ross

Marc Schmidt

Breck Seitz

Sam Smola
The PrivateBank

Colleen Walter

Josh Udenlhofen
The PrivateBank

Michaela Zook
The PrivateBank

Staff Liaisons

Josh Gates
Children’s Place Association

Stacey Hacker
Children’s Place Association

International Board of Directors

The Board of Children’s Place International is made up of individuals from the Chicago community and abroad who are committed to bringing vital services to high-need regions of the world.


Leslie McLeod, Chair
Senior Vice President, Alliant Employee Benefits
Alliant/Mesirow Insurance Services

Julia Rehwinkel Roberts, Vice Chair
Deputy Director, Latin America and Caribbean
Population Services International

Brad Dunlap, Secretary
Vice President
CIVCO Medical Solutions

Gary W. Harper, PhD, MPH, Treasurer
Professor, Department of Health Behavior and Health Education
School of Public Health
University of Michigan

Board Members

Abraham Goldman
Senior Counsel
Takeda Pharmaceuticals International

Marc Harris
Head of Global Research
RBC Capital Markets

Cathy Krieger
President & CEO
Children’s Place Association

Wesler Lambert, MD, MPH
Executive Director
Zanmi Lasante Haiti

Terry McAllister
President, International Markets
Teknion International

Richard Moser
Divisional Vice President Corporate Communications
Abbott Laboratories

Edward Otto
Ted Otto Group, LLC

Ambassador Board for Fundraising

Tina Eddy
Regional Vice-President
Fresenius Medical Care

Cheryl Gelfond
Vice President

Tim Koenig
Vice President
Navicor Group

Rhea Keenan
Community Volunteer

Kendra Morrill
Community Volunteer

Vanessa Tanaka
Special Counsel